State Spelling Bee ResultsFree Access

TOPEKA, KS— Eli Cokelet, Douglas County is the champion of the Sunflower State Spelling Bee sponsored by; Kansas Press Association, ITC and Newman University. His winning word was Provender. The competition involving 87 spellers from all across the state lasted 17 rounds.

Spellers competed at Newman Unversity on Saturday, March 26, 2022.

Top three spellers, Left to Right; Cokelet – Douglas County, Maggie Turner – Jackson County, Hayan Raffi – Sedgwick County

Susan Crane-Laracuente served as pronouncer for the competition, and the judges who tracked every word and verified spelling accuracy were Cory Teubner, Karla Duran and Susan Perez. Spellers studied Words of the Champions, the 4,000-word list provided by the Scripps National Spelling Bee.

Champion, Eli Cokelet, will now represent Kansas at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington D.C.

Cokelet now advances to compete in the 2022 Scripps National Spelling Bee this summer near Washington, D.C. The semifinals on June 1 and the finals on June 2 will be televised on national networks ION and Bounce and hosted by accomplished actor, director, educator and lifelong children’s literacy advocate LeVar Burton.

The Kansas Press Association has sponsored the regional bee event for 5 years. The competition encourages students to set goals and dedicate time to study and prepare. Participation also provides an opportunity for students to gain experience in public speaking and performing under pressure.

The Scripps National Spelling Bee provides the list of words for the regional competition. The Bee reaches millions of students across the country and in other parts of the world with the classroom materials it provides to enrolled schools. The purpose of the Bee is to help students improve their spelling, increase their vocabularies, learn concepts and develop correct English usage that will help them all their lives.


The Scripps National Spelling Bee is the nation’s largest and longest-running educational program. Visit for more information about the Scripps National Spelling Bee, which is administered on a not-for-profit basis by The E.W. Scripps Company.

2022 Results

County First Last Place
Douglas Eli Cokelet 1
Jackson Maggie Turner 2
Sedgwick Hayan Raffi 3
Grant Adriana Rodriguez 4
Riley Solon Xia 5
Miami Wyatt Heien 6
Scott Amaya Rascon 7
Norton Gavin Gutzman Davis 8
Clay Miller Coffman 9
Chautauqua Brian Hert 10
Brown Noah Fassnacht 11
Sherman Reagan James 12
Phillips Chloe VanDerVeen 13
Marshall Devlin Ogg 14
Lincoln Gabrielle Esterl 15
Allen Sophia Heim 16
Doniphan Kamryn McCauley 17
Thomas Beau Biscomb 18
Osborne Sarah Reinert 19
Johnson Rachel Joseph 20
Franklin Tanis Normile 21
Pawnee Lili Cissell 22
Wyandotte Bailey Uziel 23
Rush Audra Oborny 24
Republic Peter Newman 25
Osage Morgan Young 26
Montgomery Kale’a Achong 27
Leavenworth Mark Rickert 28
Jewell Savannah Coil 29
Jefferson Sydnee Jackson 30
Hamilton Leslie-Natalia Aguilar Ibarra 31
Finney Alyssa Lemons 32
Crawford Adeline Hartmetz 33
Shawnee Prajeet Akula 34
Saline Charlotte Knopf 35
Rice Porter Anderson 36
Pratt Levi Thibault 37
Ottawa Lane Sullivan 38
Marion Anna Godinez Vinduska 39
Linn Tyrus Chadwick 40
Labette Perry Angleton 41
Harper Juaquin Ybarra 42
Decatur Kiomi Jackson 43
Butler Nathan Rosen 44
Atchison Trinity Hemp 45
Anderson Heidi Foltz 46
Wilson Millie McKenney 47
Wichita Jacob Cash-Amaro 48
Rawlins Hailey Saechao 49
Pottawatomie Benjamin Bryan 50
Neosho Bristol Wicker 51
Nemaha Josiah Richardson 52
Morris Emily Hinkson 53
Mitchell Paisley McMillan 54
Meade Kate Parker 55
Kiowa Rowdy Young 56
Kingman Rachel Balzer 57
Hodgeman Aidan Grace Lonnberg 58
Haskell Murphy McElheny 59
Harvey Emma Rowan 60
Greeley Briana Martinez 61
Gray Gracyn Doll 62
Gove Auston Bland 63
Ford Encarnaciona Perez Mejia 64
Ellsworth Jacey Larson 65
Ellis John Walters 66
Edwards Ash DuBois 67
Cowley Brylee Casebolt 68
Clark Kason Isenbart 69
Barton Kellan Behnke 70
Woodson Isaac Stoll 71
Washington Gretchen Bott 72
Sumner Lilly McGuire 73
Stevens Deacon Coy Hockett 74
Stanton Katelyn Burger 75
Stafford Emily Martin 76
Smith Kristopher Jacobs 77
Rooks Peyton Krob 78
Ness Hunter Stenzel 79
Morton Julian Hernandez 80
Lyon Alisa Skalsky 81
Greenwood John Bright III 82
Coffey Evelyn McMillen 83
Barber Ava Bryan 84

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *